QualityBy TRG Editorial TeamUpdated 30/10/202621 min read

QIMA vs HQTS vs V-Trust: Best Inspection Company in China (2026)

Diagram: an order in a Chinese factory linked to three inspection firms, QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust, with one key fact eachThree inspection firms, one job: check before you payYour order in a Chinese factorybalance not paid yetan inspector checks firstQIMAWidest reach: says 100+ countriesOn site within 48 hours, myQIMA appHQTSOffices in the UAE, Saudi Arabia, UKOwn labs in Hangzhou, Ningbo, DongguanV-TrustPublished price: USD 268.00 / man-dayAll inclusive, 10 Asian countriesFacts from each company's own pages, checked 31/10/2026. QIMA and HQTS quote prices on request.
Choosing an inspection company in China: three firms, one job before you pay the balance

Some links on this page are affiliate links. We may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It never changes our ranking. How we make money

Figures last checked: 31/10/2026.

Choosing the best inspection company in China is one of the cheapest ways to protect an order. A third-party inspector visits the factory, counts and checks your goods, and sends you a report before you pay the balance. QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust are three names small importers meet first.

This guide compares QIMA vs HQTS vs V-Trust on what each company publishes on its own pages: man-day prices, what the price includes, booking notice, report time, cancellation rules, liability caps, coverage, factory audits, lab testing, online platform and payment terms. Every figure was opened on the firm's own page on 31/10/2026. We have not run test orders with any of them, so this is a comparison of published terms, not of field quality.

Short answer: For a first order from one Chinese factory, V-Trust is the easiest inspection company in China to start with: it publishes USD 268.00 per man-day all inclusive in its main regions. QIMA suits buyers with suppliers in many countries (it says 100+). HQTS suits Gulf importers who want offices in the UAE and Saudi Arabia.

In 30 seconds

  • Only published price: V-Trust, USD 268.00 per man-day all inclusive in its main manufacturing regions, USD 298.00 elsewhere.

  • Widest coverage and an app: QIMA says it works in 100+ countries and puts an inspector on site within 48 hours.

  • Best for Gulf-based buyers: HQTS, with offices in the UAE and Saudi Arabia and invoices due within 30 days under its terms.

  • Watch the fine print: all three charge the full fee, or an abortive fee, if the goods are not ready on the day.

  • Always: book the inspection before you pay the balance, never after.

In this guide: Quick verdict · Who each firm is for (and not for) · QIMA vs HQTS vs V-Trust · How much does a China inspection cost per man-da · How fast can QIMA, HQTS or V-Trust inspect · QIMA cancellation policy, missed inspection fees · Coverage · Factory audit in China, lab testing and online p · Is a pre-shipment inspection worth it · By region · How to book a third-party inspection in China st · Mistakes to avoid when booking an inspection · Checklist · Key takeaways

Quick verdict: which inspection company in China is best for you?

Your situationBest choiceWhy
First order, small budget, factory in China or Southeast AsiaV-TrustFixed published rate of USD 268.00 per man-day, travel and weekends included
Suppliers in several countries, including Europe, Turkey or the AmericasQIMASays it covers 100+ countries, one platform (myQIMA) for all of them
Short notice: the factory says goods are ready tomorrowHQTS or QIMAHQTS says 24 hours in China; QIMA says on site within 48 hours
Company in the UAE or Saudi Arabia, wants local contactHQTSRegional offices listed in both countries
Need lab tests (REACH, RoHS, chemical) as wellAny of the threeAll three list labs; ask for a combined quote
Decision tree with three questions leading to QIMA, V-Trust, HQTS or asking for quotesWhich inspection company? Three questionsStart at the top. Most small importers stop at question 2.Factories outside Asia too (EU, US)?Want a fixed price before you ask?Need a team in the UAE or Saudi?QIMAsays it covers 100+ countriesV-TrustUSD 268.00 / man-day, all inclusiveHQTSOffices in the UAE and Saudi ArabiaAsk QIMA and HQTS to quotecompare with V-Trust’s published rateyesyesyesnonono
Which inspection firm: three questions, four outcomes

For most first orders from one Chinese factory, the decision stops at question two: a published rate saves a round of quotes. If you already know you want QIMA or HQTS, ask for a quote with the same details you would give V-Trust and compare line by line.

Who each firm is for (and not for)

Persona cards showing which inspection company in China fits first-time, multi-country, Gulf and regulated-product importersWhich inspection firm for which importer?Four typical buyer profiles and the firm that fits their situation bestFirst-time importerOne factory in Guangdong,tight budgetBest fitV-TrustPublished rate, no quoteround neededMulti-country buyerSuppliers in China, Turkeyand EuropeBest fitQIMAOne platform across100+ countriesGulf trading companyOffice in Dubai or Riyadh,wants a local contactBest fitHQTSOffices listed in theUAE and Saudi ArabiaRegulated productToys, electricals orcosmetics for EU/USBest fitAny + labAsk for inspection andaccredited tests together
Which inspection firm for which importer: four buyer profiles
FirmGood forNot ideal for
QIMABuyers with suppliers in several countries; teams who want booking, payment and reports in one appBuyers who want a price before they talk to sales
HQTSGulf companies wanting a regional office; buyers who need invoice terms instead of paying firstBuyers who want a self-service online platform
V-TrustFirst orders from China or South and Southeast Asia; fixed budgetsSuppliers in Europe, Turkey or the Americas (outside its 10 countries)

QIMA vs HQTS vs V-Trust: strengths and limits

All three do the same core job: pre-shipment inspection (PSI), during-production inspection, container loading checks, factory audits and lab testing. What differs is how they sell it.

Three cards listing strengths and limits of QIMA, HQTS and V-TrustStrengths and limits, side by sideFrom each company's own service pages and termsQIMAGlobal network, app firstSTRENGTHSSays it covers 100+ countriesInspector on site in 48 hoursSame-day report in myQIMAISO 17025 in-house labsLIMITSNo public man-day pricePay online before bookingHQTSAsia plus Gulf and Europe officesSTRENGTHSOffices in UAE, Saudi, TurkeyLabs: Hangzhou, Ningbo, DongguanInspection within 24-72 hoursInvoice due in 30 days (T&Cs)LIMITSNo public man-day priceVerified report: next dayV-TrustPublished price, Asia onlySTRENGTHSUSD 268.00 / man-day, all inNo travel or weekend surchargeReport within 24 hoursAudit USD 398.00 / man-dayLIMITS10 Asian countries onlyBook 3 days ahead, prepay
Strengths and limits of QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust, side by side
Traffic-light table rating QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust on public price, coverage, Gulf office, platform and invoice termsEach firm wins on something differentGreen = yes, amber = partly, red = no (published terms only)QIMAHQTSV-TrustPublic pricenonoyesWide coverageyesyespartlyOffice in UAE / KSApartlyyesnoOnline platformyesnoyesPay after invoicepartlyyesnoCoverage: QIMA 100+, HQTS 80+, V-Trust 10 countries. QIMA invoices on 30 days only where agreed.
Traffic-light view: QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust on five criteria
  • QIMA is platform-first. You book, cancel, reschedule, pay and download reports in myQIMA. It says an inspector is confirmed on site within 48 hours and the report is delivered the same day, and it lists 6,000+ field and lab experts (QIMA product inspections).

  • HQTS says it was established in 1987 (HQTS China). Its FAQ lists regional offices in China, India, the UAE, Spain, Vietnam, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Turkey, Indonesia, the UK, Pakistan and others (HQTS FAQ). It runs its own labs in Hangzhou, Ningbo and Dongguan.

  • V-Trust is the only one of the three with a public price list. It says 650+ employees work in 10 Asian countries and that it uses only full-time inspectors (V-Trust).

How much does a China inspection cost per man-day?

Inspection firms price by the man-day: one inspector, one day on site, including the report. A small order of one product usually needs one man-day; large or mixed orders can need two or more. Ask each firm how many man-days your order needs before you compare.

Bar chart of published man-day prices: V-Trust USD 268.00, USD 298.00 and audit USD 398.00; QIMA and HQTS quote onlyPublished prices per man-day (USD)Only V-Trust publishes a rate. Its price includes travel and weekend days.V-Trust inspectionmain factory areasUSD 268.00V-Trust inspectionanywhere elseUSD 298.00V-Trust factory auditper man-dayUSD 398.00QIMA inspectionquote on requestno public rate: price comes with your quoteHQTS inspectionquote on requestno public rate: price comes with your quoteSource: v-trust.com price and factory audit pages; qima.com and hqts.com pricing and FAQ pages, checked 31/10/2026.
Published man-day prices in USD: only V-Trust shows a rate
  • V-Trust: USD 268.00 per man-day "all inclusive" in the main manufacturing regions listed on its China page (25 provinces and cities, including Guangdong, Zhejiang, Jiangsu, Fujian and Shandong), and USD 298.00 per man-day anywhere else. The page states no extra charge for travel and no extra charge for Saturday and Sunday inspections (V-Trust China). Its Vietnam page shows the same two rates.

  • QIMA: no public price. Its inspection FAQ says fees "depend on the service type, factory location, and number of inspection days required", and its pricing page promises a reply within one business day (QIMA pricing).

  • HQTS: no public price. Its FAQ only says its man-hour quotes are "very competitive" (HQTS FAQ).

What to ask when a firm quotes: is travel included, are weekends extra, how many man-days, and is the report included in the price? An "all inclusive" figure is only comparable with another "all inclusive" figure.

What does one man-day include?

HQTS's FAQ says an inspector typically works 8 hours a day on site, not counting meal breaks. That time covers counting cartons, drawing the random sample, checking each sampled unit, measuring cartons and writing up the findings. V-Trust adds that its rate covers travel to the factory and weekend days. If the factory is far from a city, ask whether travel time eats into the 8 hours.

How many man-days does my order need?

It depends on the sample size, which comes from AQL sampling tables. The international version is ISO 2859-1 (third edition published in January 2026); QIMA's PSI page says it samples under the US equivalent, ANSI/ASQ Z1.4-2008. More units, more models and more tests on site mean more time. Ask the firm to state the man-day count in writing before you confirm.

AQL sampling flow: 4,000 units, level II, code L, 200 samples, pass with 10 or fewer major defectsHow the inspector decides pass or fail (AQL 2.5)Example lot of 4,000 units, as worked on QIMA's AQL page1Lot4,000 unitsin cartons2Level IIgeneral level,the usual default3Code letter Lread from thelot-size table4Sample: 200units picked atrandom to checkCount major defects in the 200 samples10 or fewer: PASSrelease the balance11 or more: FAILhold the balance, reworkTypical limits: critical 0 · major 2.5 · minor 4.0 (V-Trust's suggestion for low- and mid-value goods)Sources: QIMA AQL page; V-Trust AQL table page; ISO 2859-1:2026, checked 31/10/2026.
AQL sampling at a pre-shipment inspection company: 4,000 units, 200 samples, pass or fail

QIMA's AQL page gives a clear example: 4,000 units at general inspection level II give code letter L, which means a sample of 200 units. At AQL 2.5, the lot passes with 10 or fewer defective units and fails at 11 or more. V-Trust's AQL page suggests 0 for critical defects, 2.5 for major and 4.0 for minor on low- and mid-value goods. For the full method, our pre-shipment inspection guide walks through the tables.

Is V-Trust's USD 268.00 price really all inclusive?

V-Trust's China page says the rate covers travel and weekend inspections in its listed regions. Outside them, the rate is USD 298.00. Re-inspections after a failure are a new booking, and a visit where goods are not ready is charged in full, so budget for that risk too.

Does the inspection cost depend on the order size?

The fee does not, but its weight does. One man-day costs the same whether the order is USD 3,000.00 or USD 100,000.00, so on small orders it takes a much bigger share.

Bar chart: one USD 268.00 inspection man-day is 8.93% of a USD 3,000.00 order and 0.27% of USD 100,000.00The same USD 268.00 visit weighs 33 times more on a small orderOne V-Trust man-day (main areas) as a share of the order value0.00%2.00%4.00%6.00%8.00%10.00%USD 3,000.008.93%USD 10,000.002.68%USD 25,000.001.07%USD 50,000.000.54%USD 100,000.000.27%Arithmetic: USD 268.00 ÷ order value. Rate from V-Trust's China price page, checked 31/10/2026.
Inspection cost on a small China order vs a large one: one man-day as a share of order value

QIMA's own PSI page makes the same point from the other side: it compares "only ~USD 1K for an inspection" with possible losses on a USD 430,000.00 order. Treat that USD 1,000.00 as QIMA's illustration, not a quote (indicative, QIMA PSI page, 31/10/2026).

How fast can QIMA, HQTS or V-Trust inspect? Booking notice and report time

Factories often say goods are ready later than planned, then suddenly earlier. How late you can book matters as much as the price.

Timeline of booking notice and report time for V-Trust, QIMA and HQTS around inspection dayBooking timeline: how late can you book?Minimum notice and report time published by each firm. Day 0 = inspection day.Day -3Day -2Day -1Inspection dayDay +1V-Trustbook 3 days aheadreport within 24 hQIMAon site in 48 hsame-day reportfree cancel to 13:00 ChinaHQTSinspector in 24 hverified reportfirst report same day
Booking notice and report time for each firm, day 0 = inspection day
Bar chart of shortest booking notice: HQTS 24 hours, QIMA 48 hours, V-Trust 3 daysHQTS can come 3 times sooner than V-Trust's minimum noticeShortest booking notice each firm publishes, in hours0 h24 h48 h72 hHQTSin China24 hoursQIMAinspector on site48 hoursV-Trustbook at least3 days (72 hours)Source: QIMA conditions of service, HQTS China page, V-Trust how-to-start page, checked 31/10/2026.
Shortest published booking notice: HQTS 24 hours, QIMA 48 hours, V-Trust 3 days
FirmBooking noticeReportCancellation
QIMAInspector on site within 48 hours of bookingSame day, in myQIMAFree until 1:00 PM China time the day before (policy page); later or missed = full fee
HQTSField inspection within 24 hours of booking in ChinaFirst report can be same day; verified report next business daySame-day cancellation or goods not ready = "abortive fee"
V-TrustBook at least 3 days in advanceWithin 24 hours; same-day report availableWithin 24 hours of the start = full price; goods not ready = full fee

Sources: QIMA cancellation policy, HQTS China, HQTS FAQ, HQTS terms, V-Trust how to start, V-Trust general terms.

When are goods "ready" for each firm?

The firms do not use the same rule. QIMA says a pre-shipment inspection is done when at least 80% of the order is complete and packing has started (QIMA PSI). HQTS's FAQ is stricter: it asks for production to be 100% complete and at least 80% packed before it completes the inspection. Ask your factory for photos of packed cartons before you confirm the date, not only a promise.

Drawing of a factory, packed cartons and an inspector with a clipboard, with four timing rulesThe right moment for the inspector's visitBook when most goods are made and packing has started180%+ of goods made2Packing has started3You book and pay the firm4Read the report firstpacked cartonsIllustration. Timing rule from QIMA's pre-shipment inspection page, checked 31/10/2026.
When to send the inspector: goods made and packing started

QIMA cancellation policy, missed inspection fees and liability caps

These are the terms that rarely appear in "best of" lists but decide what you pay when things go wrong. All three firms put them in their terms and conditions.

Table of inspection company fine print: cancellation cut-off, missed inspection fee, payment and liability capThe fine print that can cost you moneyFrom each firm's terms and conditions, checked 31/10/2026QIMAHQTSV-TrustFree cancel until13:00 China time,day before*Not stated;same day = abortive fee24 hours beforethe startGoods not readyFull fee as a"missed inspection""Abortive fee"(amount not stated)Full fee as a"missed inspection"When you payOnline, beforebookingWithin 30 daysof invoiceAt least 2 daysbefore the visitLiability cap5 × fee, grossnegligence only5 × fee orUSD 1,500.00 (lower)10 × fee (5 × withno approved sample)Late payment1.50% per month1.50% per monthNot stated* QIMA's cancellation-policy page says 13:00; its conditions of service say 16:00. Plan for the earlier time.HQTS also asks for claims within 10 days of discovery and 3 months of the service date."Fee" = the fee paid for that one service. An inspection report is evidence, not insurance.
Inspection company fine print compared: cancellation, missed inspection fee, payment and liability cap

What is a missed inspection fee?

If the inspector travels to the factory and cannot work, for example because goods are not ready or the address was wrong, you pay. QIMA's and V-Trust's terms charge the full fee as a "missed inspection"; HQTS charges an "abortive fee" without stating the amount. V-Trust's terms suggest passing that cost on to the factory when it is at fault. Put that rule in your purchase contract.

Which QIMA cut-off is right: 1:00 PM or 4:00 PM?

QIMA's cancellation policy page says you can cancel or change an inspection until 1:00 PM China time the day before. Its conditions of service say 4:00 PM China time the day before. Plan for the earlier time. For a buyer in Dubai, 1:00 PM in China is 9:00 AM the same day; in London it is 5:00 AM in winter.

Is the inspection company liable if it misses a defect?

Only up to a cap, and only in some cases. QIMA limits its liability to five times the fee for that service, and only for gross negligence or wilful misconduct. HQTS caps it at five times the fee or USD 1,500.00, whichever is lower, and asks for claims within 10 days of discovery and 3 months of the service. V-Trust caps it at ten times the fee when you supplied an approved reference sample, five times without one (V-Trust general terms, HQTS terms, QIMA conditions).

Example arithmetic. On one USD 268.00 V-Trust man-day, the cap is USD 2,680.00 with an approved sample and USD 1,340.00 without. On a USD 25,000.00 order, that is far less than the goods. The lesson: an inspection report is evidence, not insurance. Send an approved golden sample, and keep the balance as your real protection.

Coverage: China, Asia and beyond

All three cover the main manufacturing provinces of China. The difference shows when you buy from other countries.

Stylised map showing which regions each inspection firm listsWhere each firm says it works (stylised map)Q = QIMA coverage list · H = HQTS office list · V = V-Trust networkAmericasUS, Mexico, BrazilQHVEuropeUK, Spain, TurkeyQHVNorth AfricaEgypt, MoroccoQHVGulfUAE, Saudi ArabiaQHVSouth AsiaIndia, BangladeshQHVChina + HKall main regionsQHVSoutheast AsiaVietnam, MalaysiaQHVlisted on the firm's own pagenot listed: ask before you bookHQTS says it covers 80+ countries but lists offices only; V-Trust lists 10 Asian countries.
Stylised coverage map of each inspection firm, as listed on its own pages
Bar chart of countries covered: QIMA says 100+, HQTS more than 80, V-Trust 10QIMA and HQTS cover 8 to 10 times more countries than V-TrustNumber of countries each firm says it covers for inspectionsQIMAsays it covers more than100+HQTSsays it covers more than80+V-TrustAsian countries10Source: QIMA product inspections and pricing pages, HQTS inspections and V-Trust network pages, checked 31/10/2026.
Countries covered: QIMA 100+, HQTS 80+, V-Trust 10
  • QIMA says it operates in more than 100 countries. Its coverage page lists, among others, the United States, Mexico, Brazil, the UK, France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Poland, Turkey, Egypt, Morocco, Tunisia, the UAE, Saudi Arabia and Jordan.

  • HQTS says it covers more than 80 countries (HQTS inspections) and lists offices across Asia, the Gulf, Turkey, Spain and the UK.

  • V-Trust covers 10 Asian countries: China (with Hong Kong and Taiwan), Vietnam, India, Bangladesh, Thailand, Malaysia, Pakistan, Indonesia, Cambodia and Myanmar (V-Trust network).

Factory audit in China, lab testing and online platform

An inspection checks one batch. A factory audit checks the supplier itself, which is useful before a first order (see our checklist to verify a Chinese supplier; if you are still choosing where to set up your import company, the setup route finder and Hong Kong vs Dubai vs US LLC comparison help). Lab testing checks what the eye cannot see, such as chemicals or electrical safety.

Scorecard matrix rating QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust on nine criteriaScorecard: nine criteria for a small importerGreen = strong · amber = check · red = gap. Based on published facts, not on tests.QIMAHQTSV-TrustPublished priceQuote onlyQuote onlyUSD 268.00 / dayCoverage outside Asia100+ countries80+ countriesAsia onlyGulf presenceUAE, Saudi listedUAE, Saudi officesNot listedBooking notice48 hours24 hours3 daysReport timeSame dayVerified next dayWithin 24 hoursLab testingISO 17025 labsOwn labs in ChinaISO 17025 labsFactory auditYes, quotedYes, quotedUSD 398.00 / dayOnline platformmyQIMA + appsNot describedOnline bookingPaymentOnline prepay*30 days (T&Cs)Prepay 2 days ahead* QIMA terms: online orders prepaid; 30-day invoice only where agreed. Sources: firms' own pages, 31/10/2026.
Scorecard on nine criteria, published facts only
Versus card comparing a pre-shipment inspection with a factory auditInspection checks the goods. An audit checks the factory.Use an audit before a first order, an inspection on every shipmentPre-shipment inspectionOne batch of finished goodsDone at 80%+ completionChecks against your specsEvery shipmentFactory auditThe supplier itselfBefore a first orderLicences, capacity, quality systemV-Trust: USD 398.00 per man-dayvsSource: V-Trust factory audit page and QIMA PSI page, checked 31/10/2026.
Pre-shipment inspection vs factory audit at a glance
  • Factory audits: V-Trust publishes USD 398.00 per man-day, with the official report within 2 days and a same-day draft available (V-Trust factory audit). It also lists social, SMETA (Sedex) and credit audits. QIMA and HQTS offer audits on quote. QIMA's terms ask for at least 48 hours' notice for audits in China, India, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Indonesia and Vietnam, one week elsewhere in Asia and two weeks in other regions.

  • Lab testing: QIMA describes ISO 17025 accredited in-house labs; its lab list names Hangzhou, Dongguan, Shanghai, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Bangladesh, India and Buffalo in the US. HQTS lists a Hangzhou lab for chemical, functional, safety, textile and packaging tests, a Ningbo lab for chemicals, textiles, toys, electrical goods and food-contact materials, and a Dongguan footwear lab. V-Trust states ISO/IEC 17020 and 17025 accreditation since 2008.

  • Platform: QIMA's myQIMA handles booking, payment, rescheduling and reports, with a quality dashboard. V-Trust has a 24/7 online booking system and a client portal. The HQTS pages checked do not describe a client platform.

  • Payment: V-Trust's terms ask normal clients to pay at least 2 days before the inspection; clients with 20 or more inspections a month can ask for a monthly statement. QIMA's terms expect online payment before booking, or payment within 30 days of the invoice where invoicing is agreed. HQTS's terms say payment is due within 30 days of the invoice date. QIMA and HQTS both charge 1.50% monthly interest on late payment.

Is a pre-shipment inspection worth it? Three worked examples

The three examples below use V-Trust's published rate because it is the only public one. They are illustrations, not quotes; ask QIMA and HQTS to price the same order and put their figures in the same table.

Example 1: a USD 25,000.00 order shipped to Dubai

Example scenario. A Dubai importer orders USD 25,000.00 of LED lamps from a factory in Zhongshan, Guangdong, on 30/70 terms. They book one pre-shipment inspection with V-Trust at the published rate.

Five-step worked example: deposit, booking, USD 268.00 inspection, report, balance on a USD 25,000.00 orderExample: one inspection on a USD 25,000.00 orderV-Trust published rate, main factory area. Illustration only.1Deposit 30%USD 7,500.00paid to start2Book PSIat 80% complete3+ days ahead3InspectionUSD 268.001 man-day, all in4Report: passwithin 24 hoursread it first5Balance 70%USD 17,500.00paid after passInspection cost = USD 268.00 / USD 25,000.00 = 1.07% of the orderTwo man-days (large or mixed order): USD 536.00 = 2.14%. Outside the main areas: USD 298.00 per man-day.
Worked example: a USD 25,000.00 order with one inspection
StepAmount (USD)Share of order
Deposit (30%)7,500.0030.00%
Inspection, 1 man-day, main area268.001.07%
Inspection, 2 man-days (if needed)536.002.14%
Balance (70%), paid after a pass17,500.0070.00%

For about 1.07% of the order, the importer gets a report before USD 17,500.00 leaves their account. If the report shows defects, they still hold the balance and can ask the factory to rework.

Example 2: a small first order of USD 3,000.00 to Riyadh

Example scenario. A Riyadh start-up places a first order of USD 3,000.00 of phone stands with a factory in Shenzhen, Guangdong, on 30/70 terms. The factory first says goods are ready on Monday; on the day, packing has not started.

LineCalculationAmount (USD)Share of order
Deposit3,000.00 × 30.00%900.0030.00%
Balance still held3,000.00 × 70.00%2,100.0070.00%
Inspection, 1 man-dayV-Trust main-area rate268.008.93%
Missed visit (goods not ready)full fee under V-Trust terms268.008.93%
Total inspection cost268.00 + 268.00536.0017.87%
Inspection cost vs balance held536.00 ÷ 2,100.00-25.52%

One visit is already 8.93% of this order; a missed visit doubles it. The fix is cheap: ask the factory for dated photos of packed cartons before you confirm, and write in the contract that the factory pays for a visit it caused to fail. Saudi rules still apply on top: regulated products need SABER certificates whatever the inspection says.

Example 3: a USD 50,000.00 repeat order to Lyon

Example scenario. A Lyon importer reorders USD 50,000.00 of kitchen tools in 3 models from a factory in Ningbo, Zhejiang. They book one during-production check and a two-man-day pre-shipment inspection.

LineCalculationAmount (USD)Share of order
During-production check1 × 268.00268.000.54%
Pre-shipment inspection2 × 268.00536.001.07%
Total, main-area rate268.00 + 536.00804.001.61%
Same plan outside the listed regions3 × 298.00894.001.79%
Balance protected (70.00%)50,000.00 × 70.00%35,000.0070.00%

Even with two visits, inspection stays under 2.00% of the order. Because the goods are sold in the EU, the importer also needs evidence for GPSR and any food-contact rules, so a lab test quote belongs in the same request. Add every fee to your landed cost and check how the price terms split risk in our Incoterms guide.

By region: MENA, Europe, USA

Region table: SABER, GOEIC, GPSR, UKCA and CPSC rules to check, with the typical inspection firm per regionBy region: what to add to your inspectionInspection checks the goods; your market's rules decide which tests and papers you needBuyer regionRule to checkTypical fitGulf (UAE, Saudi)SABER certificates forregulated goods (Saudi)HQTS or QIMANorth AfricaEgypt: GOEIC factoryregistration listsQIMA or V-TrustEU and UKGPSR (EU), UKCA/CEmarking, REACHQIMA + lab testsUSACPSC rules, Children’sProduct CertificateQIMA or V-TrustSources: trade.gov (SABER, GOEIC Decree 43), eur-lex.europa.eu, gov.uk, cpsc.gov, checked 31/10/2026.
Inspection company in China by buyer region: rules to check and typical fit
  • Gulf and Saudi Arabia: HQTS lists offices in the UAE and Saudi Arabia, useful if you prefer a local contact. QIMA lists both countries in its coverage. For payments to the factory once the report passes, see paying from the UAE and from Saudi Arabia.

  • Saudi product rules: the US government's Saudi testing and certification note explains that the SASO-run SABER platform is mandatory for imported goods: regulated products get a certificate of conformity and then a shipment certificate, and unregulated products are self-declared. An inspection does not replace this; check whether your product is in scope before production ends.

  • Egypt: under Ministerial Decree 43 of 2016, factories and brand owners of listed consumer goods must register with GOEIC before exporting to Egypt; the file includes a certificate that the factory applies a quality control system, issued by an accredited or approved body (trade.gov: Egypt trade barriers). Check the registration before you order.

  • Morocco, Tunisia, Jordan: QIMA's coverage list includes Morocco, Tunisia and Jordan, in case you also buy from local or Turkish suppliers. For China-only orders, V-Trust's published rate is the easiest benchmark.

  • Europe (EU and UK): the EU General Product Safety Regulation (EU) 2023/988 applies to products placed on the market from 13/12/2024, and every covered product needs a responsible person in the EU named on the product, packaging or an accompanying document (CCPC Ireland). Ask the inspector to check that label. In Great Britain, the UKCA marking guidance says CE marking is still recognised alongside UKCA. HQTS has offices in Spain and the UK; QIMA's coverage list includes the main EU markets.

  • USA: children's products (for children 12 or younger) need a Children's Product Certificate based on tests by a CPSC-accepted third-party lab (CPSC: Children's Product Certificate). QIMA lists the United States and a lab in Buffalo. Many US buyers also split sourcing between China and Vietnam or India, where all three firms work. See paying a Chinese supplier from the USA for the payment side.

How to book a third-party inspection in China step by step

Six numbered steps to book a third-party inspection in China, from choosing the firm to paying the balanceHow to book an inspection in China, step by stepSame flow for QIMA, HQTS or V-Trust1Pick the firmby country and budget2Get a quoteman-days, all inclusive3Send specsphotos, sample, AQL4Confirm date80%+ made, packing5Read reportpass, fail or pending6Pay balanceonly after a pass
How to book an inspection company in China in six steps
  1. Choose the firm. Use the quick verdict above: country of the factory, budget, and whether you need a local office.

  2. Ask for an all-inclusive quote. Give the factory address, quantity and number of models. Get the man-day count, travel and weekend charges in writing.

  3. Send your specs. Drawings, photos, packaging artwork, labels and the AQL levels you want. An approved golden sample at the factory helps the inspector and, at V-Trust, doubles the liability cap.

  4. Confirm the date with the factory. Ask for photos of packed cartons, then book. Note the free-cancellation cut-off in China time.

  5. Pay the inspection fee. V-Trust and QIMA online orders are paid in advance; HQTS invoices on 30-day terms. Pay the firm yourself, never through the supplier.

  6. Read the report and decide. Check every defect photo. Pass: release the balance (see how to pay a Chinese supplier with Wise, Payoneer or Airwallex). Fail: hold the balance and agree on rework.

What does an inspection report contain?

Annotated fictional pre-shipment inspection report showing order details, fail verdict, AQL result and photosReading an inspection report: five places to lookFictional example for illustration. Layouts differ by firm; the content is similar.PRE-SHIPMENT INSPECTION REPORTEXAMPLE ONLYPO no.PO-0000 (fictional)ProductLED desk lamp, 1 modelQuantity4,000 units, 100% made1RESULT: FAILmajor defects above the AQL limit2ClassAQLSampleLimitFoundCritical020000Major2.520010123Loose switch · scratched base · wrong plug4Carton marksOKCarton size, weightOK, measuredDrop testPassed51Order detailsPO, product and quantity mustmatch your purchase order2VerdictPass, fail or pending. A failmeans: do not pay the balance3AQL resultSample size, limit and defectsfound, per defect class4Defect photosOne photo per defect, witha date stamp5Packing and cartonsLabels, carton marks, size andweight against your specs
Anatomy of a pre-shipment inspection report (fictional example)

Expect a summary verdict (pass, fail or pending), the quantity found against the order, the AQL sample size and defects found (critical, major, minor), photos of each defect, packaging and label checks, carton measurements and weights, and any on-site tests such as drop tests or function checks. If a section is missing, ask the firm before you pay the balance.

Can I trust the inspector?

Risk comes mostly from a supplier influencing the visit. Book and pay yourself, do not tell the factory more than the date, and ask for time-stamped photos. V-Trust states it uses only full-time inspectors; ask QIMA and HQTS how they staff your region and how they handle integrity complaints.

What about other inspection companies?

This guide compares only QIMA, HQTS and V-Trust. If you also ask a large testing group or a local agency for a quote, send the same checklist below and compare the same lines: rate per man-day, what it includes, notice, cancellation cut-off, missed-visit fee, payment timing and liability cap.

Mistakes to avoid when booking an inspection

Red flag versus green flag cards for booking an inspectionRed flags vs green flags when you bookRED FLAGGREEN FLAGThe supplier books or pays the inspectorYou book and pay the firm directlyInspection booked while goods are half madePSI at 80%+ complete, packing startedNo checklist, specs or photos sentSpecs, drawings and a golden sample sentBalance paid before the report arrivesBalance paid only after a passLate cancel: full fee chargedCancel or move before the cut-off
Red flags vs green flags when booking an inspection
  1. Letting the supplier choose or pay the inspector. You are the client. Book and pay the firm yourself.

  2. Booking too early. With half the goods made, the inspector cannot sample properly, and a "not ready" visit is charged in full.

  3. Sending no specs. Without drawings, photos and a reference sample, the inspector can only check general workmanship.

  4. Paying the balance before reading the report. The report is your last lever.

  5. Reading the wrong time zone. Cut-offs are in China time. QIMA's 1:00 PM cut-off is early morning in Europe.

If the inspection fails: do not pay the balance. Share the report with the factory, agree in writing on rework or replacement, and book a re-inspection. Ask the factory to pay the re-inspection fee if the failure is theirs; write this into your purchase contract for the next order.

Checklist: before you book a pre-shipment inspection company

Checklist of six things to settle before booking an inspectionSix things to settle before you bookSend these to every firm you ask, so the quotes are comparableFactory addresscity and province set the rate tierQuantity and style countdecides 1 or 2 man-daysSpecs and photoswhat the inspector checks againstSampling levelask for the standard and AQL usedDate and cut-offnotice and free-cancel deadlinePayment and reportprepay or invoice, report time
Six things to settle before booking an inspection
  • Factory address city and province, so the firm can confirm its rate tier

  • Quantity and styles total units, number of models and colours

  • Specs and photos drawings, packaging, labels and an approved golden sample

  • Sampling standard which standard and AQL levels for critical, major and minor defects

  • Readiness proof dated photos of packed cartons before you confirm

  • Date and cut-off booking notice and the last free-cancellation time, in China time

  • All-inclusive quote travel, weekends, report and number of man-days in writing

  • Payment timing balance due only after you have read a passing report

Key takeaways

  • V-Trust is the only one of the three with a public price: USD 268.00 per man-day in its main regions, USD 298.00 elsewhere.

  • QIMA has the widest reach (100+ countries) and the most complete online platform.

  • HQTS suits Gulf buyers who want offices in the UAE and Saudi Arabia and 30-day invoice terms.

  • One man-day is 1.07% of a USD 25,000.00 order but 8.93% of a USD 3,000.00 order.

  • All three charge for a visit when goods are not ready; liability is capped at 5 to 10 times the fee.

  • Never pay the balance before reading the report.

  • An inspection does not replace your market's certificates or lab tests (SABER, GOEIC, GPSR, CPSC).

Glossary

PSI (pre-shipment inspection): a check of finished goods at the factory, near the end of production, before the balance is paid.

DUPRO: during-production inspection, done while goods are being made to catch problems early.

Man-day: one inspector working one day on site; the unit most firms use to price inspections.

AQL: acceptance quality limit, the defect level a sampling plan accepts; it sets how many defective units are allowed in the random sample.

Code letter: the letter read from the lot-size table that tells the inspector how many units to sample.

Factory audit: a visit that checks the supplier's set-up, capacity and quality system, not a single order.

ISO 17025: the international standard for testing laboratories' competence.

Missed inspection / abortive fee: a charge when an inspector arrives but cannot inspect, for example because goods are not ready.

Liability cap: the maximum the inspection firm will pay if it is at fault, usually a multiple of the fee.

FAQ

How much does a product inspection in China cost? Of the three firms, only V-Trust publishes a price: USD 268.00 per man-day all inclusive in its main regions and USD 298.00 elsewhere. QIMA and HQTS quote per order, and QIMA promises a reply within one business day.

Is QIMA better than V-Trust for a small order? Neither is better for everyone. QIMA covers more countries and has a strong app; V-Trust is easier to budget because its price is public. For one Chinese factory, V-Trust is the simplest start.

V-Trust vs HQTS: which is better for a Gulf importer? HQTS has offices in the UAE and Saudi Arabia and invoices on 30-day terms. V-Trust has no Gulf office but a public rate and prepayment. If a local contact matters, start with HQTS; if a fixed price matters, start with V-Trust.

Which inspection company has offices in Dubai or Saudi Arabia? HQTS lists regional offices in the UAE and Saudi Arabia. QIMA lists both countries in its coverage list.

How many days in advance should I book an inspection? V-Trust asks for at least 3 days. QIMA says an inspector can be on site within 48 hours and HQTS within 24 hours in China. Booking a week ahead is safer, because factories often move their ready date.

What is QIMA's cancellation policy? QIMA's cancellation policy page says you can cancel or change the date until 1:00 PM China time the day before; its conditions of service say 4:00 PM. After the cut-off, or if goods are not ready, you pay the full fee. Plan for 1:00 PM.

Do I pay if the goods are not ready? Yes, with all three. QIMA and V-Trust charge the full fee as a missed inspection, and HQTS charges an abortive fee. Ask for photos of packed cartons before the visit and agree that the factory refunds you if it caused the failed visit.

Is the inspection company liable if defects are missed? Only up to a cap. QIMA's cap is five times the fee, for gross negligence or wilful misconduct only; HQTS's is five times the fee or USD 1,500.00, whichever is lower; V-Trust's is ten times the fee with an approved sample, five times without.

Who pays for the inspection, buyer or supplier? The buyer should book and pay, so the inspector works for you. You can agree with the supplier that they pay for a re-inspection if goods fail.

Can these companies inspect outside China? Yes. V-Trust covers 10 Asian countries; QIMA says it covers 100+ countries including the US, EU and North Africa; HQTS says it covers 80+ countries.

How long does an inspection take on site? One man-day is one inspector on site for a working day; HQTS says that is typically 8 hours, not counting meal breaks. Reports follow the same day at QIMA, within 24 hours at V-Trust, and the next business day for a verified HQTS report.

What is the difference between a pre-shipment inspection and a factory audit? A pre-shipment inspection checks one batch of finished goods against your specs. A factory audit checks the supplier itself: licences, capacity, quality system and working conditions. Use an audit before a first order and inspections on every shipment.

What happens if my inspection fails? Keep the balance, share the report with the factory and agree in writing on rework or replacement. Then book a re-inspection, which is billed as a new visit. Many buyers write into the purchase contract that the factory pays for re-inspections after a failure.

Can a Saudi or UAE importer use these firms for Alibaba orders? Yes. The inspection firm works for you, wherever you are based, and visits the factory in China. Pay the firm directly and keep your supplier payment separate from the inspection fee.

Does an inspection report replace a SABER or CE certificate? No. An inspection report is evidence of quality on one batch. Market certificates such as SABER in Saudi Arabia, CE or UKCA marking in Europe, or a Children's Product Certificate in the US follow their own rules and accredited tests. QIMA's PSI page itself says to combine PSI with accredited lab tests.

This guide is for information only and is not legal, tax or financial advice. Prices, notice periods and terms change; confirm them with each firm before booking.

Sources